Multi-step vs single-step form statistics at a glance
| Category | Statistic | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Steps | Single-step popup forms convert 3.81%, multistep 3.75%, across 329M+ impressions | Sleeknote, 2025 |
| Steps | Multi-page forms converted 13.85% vs 4.53% for single-page forms, from 650,000+ form users (dated, observational) | Formstack, 2015 |
| Fields | The average e-commerce checkout shows 11.3 form fields; Baymard says most sites need only 8 | Baymard Institute, June 2024 |
| Fields | One-field popups convert 4.41%; a second field drops it to 2.90% | Sleeknote, 2025 |
| Fields | Purchase forms average 31.5 labelled fields and 54.4% of starters complete them | Zuko, June 2025 |
| B2B | Among top performers, some companies book 77%+ of qualified demo leads with 2 form fields, others 76%+ with 13 | RevenueHero, 2025 |
| Field types | Mean abandonment is 10.50% at password fields, 6.41% at email and 6.28% at phone (dated) | Zuko, 2022 or earlier |
| Field types | 14% of online shoppers will never give a store their phone number | Baymard Institute, 2025 |
| Checkout | Most checkouts could cut their form elements by 20% to 60%, per Baymard's usability testing | Baymard Institute, September 2025 |
| Mobile | Form starters complete at 54.5% on desktop and 47.5% on mobile, all form types combined | Zuko, June 2025 |
| Mobile | Desktop's site conversion rate is 74% higher than mobile's | Contentsquare, 2026 |
| Fixes | Users abandon forms 75% less often when they use autofill (correlational) | Google Chrome, 2024 |
| Fixes | 33.1% of form inputs on the top million home pages lack a proper label | WebAIM, 2026 |
Do multi-step forms convert better than single-step forms?
Multi-step forms don't reliably convert better than single-step forms: the largest recent dataset, Sleeknote's 2025 popup analysis, shows 3.75% for multistep popups and 3.81% for single-step popups, a 1.6% relative difference. Sleeknote's data covers popups on its own customers' sites, mostly email capture, and gives no date range or significance test. No comparable dataset exists for page forms.
| Statistic | Source |
|---|---|
| Single-step popup forms converted at 3.81% and multistep popup forms at 3.75%, across more than 329 million form impressions. | Sleeknote, May 2025 |
| 76% of visitors who submitted the first step of a multistep popup went on to give additional details. | Sleeknote, May 2025 |
| Multi-page forms converted 13.85% of visitors and single-page forms 4.53%, from more than 650,000 form users on mobile-responsive Formstack forms. The report calls this "more than triple". | Formstack Form Conversion Report, 2015 |
| Users in Baymard's checkout testing had relatively few problems moving between multiple steps; the usability issues came from what they had to do at each step (dated). | Baymard Institute, 2011 |
| Users who saw a moving progress bar were willing to wait about three times longer than users with no progress indicator, in the study Nielsen Norman Group cites (Nah, 2004; dated). | Nielsen Norman Group, 2014 |
The Formstack 2015 number is the root of most "multi-step triples conversion" claims, and it isn't a test. It compares different forms built by different customers, and the report itself says longer forms are the ones that tend to use page breaks. The Sleeknote figure is also observational, but it's ten years newer and compares popups doing the same job.
The 76% continuation rate points to the real mechanism. Once someone commits to step one, most keep going, which only helps if step one is easy and the hard questions come later.
I'd stop asking whether multi-step beats single-step and start asking what goes on step one. The only large, recent comparison, Sleeknote's popup data, shows the layouts converting within 1.6% of each other. Tinkoff Bank's 35.8% lift, often quoted as a multi-step win, came from letting applicants skip the passport step on a form that already had four steps.
The more useful evidence sits in the head-to-head tests, and there aren't many honest ones.
What do published multi-step A/B tests show?
Published multi-step A/B tests show lifts from 18% to 743% for multi-step layouts, while one nonprofit gained 146.5% by going back to a single page. The spread depends on who ran the test and what else changed. Each row below is one organisation's single-company test, not a benchmark.
| Organisation and test | Result | Traffic and date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Venture Harbour, consulting enquiry form moved to multi-step | 0.96% to 8.1% conversion | Traffic and test date not stated; post first published August 2016 | Venture Harbour, updated April 2026 |
| B2C financial lead site (Venture Harbour), tool-like multi-step form | 11% to 46% conversion | Traffic and test date not stated | Venture Harbour, updated April 2026 |
| Instapage, multi-step vs single-step lead form | +18% in the results summary, 21.4% in the next paragraph; the post calls the gap "very small" and gives no confidence level | 25,500+ visits per variation, 8 January to 10 March (year not stated) | Instapage, April 2019 |
| Tinkoff Bank, "fill in passport details later" option added to an existing four-step credit card form (not a multi vs single test) | +35.8% conversion rate | 265,000+ visitors over 23 days, year not stated | Wingify (VWO) case study, undated |
| Hoover Institution, two-step vs one-step donation form | 1.5% to 2.1%, +40.3%, 96.7% confidence | 8,815 visitors, ended July 2019 | NextAfter, 2019 |
| FamilyLife, three-step vs single-page mobile donation form | 9.9% to 7.8%, −21.1%, only 57.5% confidence (not valid) | October to November 2022 | NextAfter, 2022 |
| Nonprofit, multi-step shopping cart replaced by a single-page donation form | Change "contributed to" +146.5% donations (experiment #2171) | Traffic and test date not stated; reported June 2020 | NextAfter, June 2020 |
Six of the seven rows are layout tests: four favour multi-step, one favours a single page and one is an underpowered loss for multi-step. Only two report a confidence level. Tinkoff Bank's form had four steps in both versions; the win came from letting applicants skip the passport section and return to it, a field-order change. Venture Harbour's 743% compares a basic WordPress contact form with a redesigned one, so the baseline was weak.
Watch the telephone game too. Venture Harbour cites a Vendio test as a 59% lift in leads; Instapage cites the same test as 214%. The "86% higher conversion" figure credited to HubSpot has no traceable HubSpot study, so it isn't here.
NextAfter is the only publisher here that shows its losing tests, and its results cut both ways: a two-step form won at Hoover and a three-step form lost at FamilyLife. That's what honest testing looks like. If a vendor shows you only wins, you're reading a sales page with a spreadsheet attached.
If splitting fields is a coin toss, the next question is whether cutting fields is a better bet.
Does the number of form fields affect conversion?
The number of form fields affects conversion less than most advice assumes: Sleeknote's 2025 popup data shows a 34% drop from one field to two, then conversion rising again for four- and five-field popups.
| Statistic | Source |
|---|---|
| Popup forms with one input field convert at 4.41%; adding a second field drops the rate to 2.90%, a 34% decrease. | Sleeknote, May 2025 |
| Three-field popups convert at 1.83%, four-field popups at 2.27% and five-field popups at 3.26%. | Sleeknote, May 2025 |
| The average e-commerce checkout had 11.3 form fields in 2024, down from 11.8 in 2021 and 12.7 in 2019. Baymard says most sites need only 8 form fields in total. | Baymard Institute, June 2024 |
| 89% of benchmarked checkouts split the name into two fields instead of using one; 75% show Address Line 2 by default instead of hiding it behind a link. | Baymard Institute, 2024 |
| Zuko's form types average 38.9 labelled fields for application forms, 31.5 for purchase, 19.2 for contact and 17.4 for enquiry forms; 51.6% of application starters and 54.4% of purchase starters complete, from 93 million sessions on Zuko customers' forms. | Zuko form benchmarking, June 2025 |
| Formstack's 2015 contest forms converted 35% of visitors and contact forms 1% (dated). | Formstack, 2015 |
Zuko's June 2025 benchmark doesn't show long forms completing worse. Purchase forms average 31.5 labelled fields and 54.4% of starters finish them. Enquiry forms, a lead-gen type, average 17.4 fields, yet only 47.7% of desktop starters and 37.7% of mobile starters finish. Intent explains more than length. Someone buying or applying for a loan has already decided; someone sending an enquiry hasn't.
The Sleeknote curve points the same way: five-field popups beat three-field popups, probably because longer popups are giveaways or quizzes where people expect to type. Sleeknote doesn't break it down.
Baymard's checkout numbers are the clearest case for cutting. By our calculation, about 29% of the fields in the average 2024 checkout are more than the 8 Baymard says most sites need. Baymard's testing puts an ideal checkout at 12 to 14 form elements, or 7 to 8 fields, and many extras are cheap to remove: merge the name fields, hide Address Line 2, hide the coupon box.
The one-field-to-two drop is real and large, so for newsletter capture I'd ask for an email and nothing else. Past that, I wouldn't count fields; I'd audit them. Every field should either route the lead, personalise the follow-up or be required to fulfil the order, and anything else is a tax the visitor pays for your CRM hygiene.
Which fields to cut first depends on which ones people quit on.
Which form fields cause the most abandonment?
The password field causes the most abandonment, with a mean abandonment rate of 10.50% across Zuko's analysis of 1,362 forms, published by August 2022, followed by email at 6.41% and phone number at 6.28%.
| Statistic | Source |
|---|---|
| Mean abandonment rate by field: password 10.50%, email 6.41%, phone 6.28%, name 5.27%, postcode 4.82%, address 4.32%, from 1,362 forms over 12 months. Medians are far lower (password 5.95%). The article is undated; its first archive capture is August 2022 (dated). | Zuko, 2022 or earlier |
| 14% of online shoppers say they will never give an online store their phone number, from a survey of 1,026 shoppers. | Baymard Institute, updated July 2025 |
| 39% of e-commerce sites require a phone number without explaining why. | Baymard Institute, 2025 |
| 27% of shoppers are reluctant to give their date of birth and 14% their gender. | Baymard Institute, 2025 |
| Across 40,000+ customer landing pages, pages that asked for age, a phone number or street-level address tended to convert lower than pages that didn't. HubSpot published no percentages, and the analysis is older than the page date (dated). | HubSpot, Dan Zarrella analysis, page updated June 2025 |
| 73% of US adults say they have little or no control over what companies do with their data, and 67% say they understand little or nothing about it, from 5,101 adults surveyed in May 2023. | Pew Research Center, October 2023 |
In Zuko's data, the phone field loses people at a mean 6.28% against 5.27% for the name field, and the password field's rate is almost double the name field's. Password pain is mostly mechanical: rules users can't see until they fail. Phone pain is mostly about trust. Baymard's shoppers fear sales calls, and some type fake numbers such as "9999" to get past a required field, which pollutes the data you asked for in the first place.
The Pew figures are dated (2023) but explain the pattern. When most people feel they've lost control of their data, every extra personal question reads as a risk.
I'd treat the phone field as the most expensive field on a B2B form, because it's the one with a known sales-call reason to lie or leave. If sales needs it, say why next to the field, or ask for it on step two after the email is safely captured. That's the one place where a multi-step layout earns its keep.
Checkout forms and lead forms fail in different places, so the next section splits them.
How do checkout forms differ from B2B lead forms?
Checkout forms and B2B lead forms differ in intent: a shopper at checkout has already chosen to buy, so Baymard finds abandonment driven by cost and effort, while a B2B visitor on a demo form is still deciding whether the conversation is worth it.
| Statistic | Source |
|---|---|
| The average documented cart abandonment rate is 70.22%, across 50 studies. | Baymard Institute, updated September 2025 |
| Among US shoppers who abandoned a checkout, excluding those just browsing, 40% left over extra costs, the most common reason. | Baymard Institute, September 2025 |
| The average e-commerce checkout is 5.1 steps long, largely unchanged since 2012. | Baymard Institute, June 2024 |
| 98% of e-commerce sites don't use specific, adaptive error messages, and 62% don't make guest checkout the most prominent option, across a 343-site benchmark. | Baymard Institute, April 2026 |
| The median B2B SaaS company books 62% of qualified inbound leads into meetings; the top 10% reach 78%+, from more than 1 million form submissions over 12 months (vendor data from RevenueHero customers). | RevenueHero, 2025 |
| Among top performers, some companies book 77%+ of qualified leads with 2 form fields, others 76%+ with 13 fields. | RevenueHero, 2025 |
| Top-quartile companies disqualify 37.7% of demo requests, about twice the 18.7% rate of the bottom quartile. | RevenueHero, 2025 |
Checkouts are already multi-step, at 5.1 steps on average, and Baymard's research doesn't blame the step count. Baymard's June 2024 article says step count has less impact on checkout performance than the total number of fields users must manage. The blame goes to surprise costs, forced accounts and fields nobody needed.
B2B lead forms are a different game. RevenueHero's data measures what happens after the form: among its top performers, some companies book 77%+ of qualified leads with two fields and others 76%+ with thirteen. The fields that earn their place are the ones that route the lead or let the rep prepare. If you're working on what happens next, the lead response time statistics page covers speed to lead, and the gated vs ungated content statistics page covers overall form completion, Baymard's other abandonment reasons and whether to put a form in front of content at all.
The B2B teams I'd copy are the top-quartile ones that disqualify twice as many leads. They ask enough on the form to say no quickly, and they still book more meetings. A shorter form that fills the calendar with bad-fit calls isn't a conversion win; it moves the cost to the sales team.
Device changes all of these numbers, and mobile is where most form traffic now lands.
How much worse do forms perform on mobile?
Mobile form starters complete 12.8% less often than desktop starters, by our calculation from Zuko's June 2025 benchmark of 93 million sessions: 47.5% against 54.5%, all form types combined.
| Statistic | Source |
|---|---|
| Form completion averages 54.5% of starters on desktop, 47.5% on mobile and 49.3% on tablet, across 93 million sessions on Zuko customers' forms. | Zuko form benchmarking, June 2025 |
| Enquiry forms complete at 47.7% on desktop and 37.7% on mobile; application forms at 53.9% and 45.0%. | Zuko, June 2025 |
| Desktop's conversion rate was 74% higher than mobile's, while mobile took 69.9% of visits, across 99 billion sessions on 6,000+ sites. | Contentsquare Digital Experience Benchmark, March 2026 |
| Home pages carry 6.9 form inputs on average, up 36% in three years, across the top 1 million home pages. | WebAIM Million, February 2026 |
The gap widens as intent drops. By our calculation, mobile enquiry forms complete 21% less often than desktop ones, while purchase forms lose under 10%. Contentsquare's 74% figure is site-wide conversion, not form completion, so it mixes form friction with people browsing on phones and buying on laptops. Don't subtract one from the other.
Mobile is where the multi-step case is strongest, because a long single page on a phone is a wall of fields and a keyboard that covers half of it. Even so, the FamilyLife test lost on mobile. I'd fix the keyboard types, autofill and field count on mobile before I'd add steps.
That leaves the fixes, and a few of them have better evidence than the layout debate ever had.
Which form fixes have the strongest evidence?
Autofill has the strongest large-scale evidence of any form fix: Google Chrome's 2024 analysis found users abandon forms 75% less often and spend about 35% less time when they use autofill, though the study is correlational.
| Statistic | Source |
|---|---|
| Users abandon forms 75% less often when they use autofill than when they type every value, and spend about 35% less time, across thousands of US address and card forms. Google calls the study correlational. | Google Chrome for Developers, December 2024 |
| Forms complete at 71% when browser autofill triggers and 59% when it doesn't, across 215 forms; 23% of users triggered autofill. The article is undated; first archived December 2022 (dated). | Zuko, 2022 or earlier |
| Inline validation raised success rates 22%, cut errors 22%, cut completion time 42% and lifted satisfaction 31%, in a 22-person eye-tracking study by Etre. | A List Apart, Luke Wroblewski, September 2009 |
| A single-column form took 102.3 seconds to complete and the same form in multiple columns took 117.8 seconds, with 702 participants (p = 0.004). | Speero / CXL Institute, October 2016 |
| 33.1% of form inputs on the top million home pages aren't properly labelled. | WebAIM Million, February 2026 |
The inline validation and single-column studies are dated (2009 and 2016), but both measure the same fields under different designs, which is more than most multi-step tests do. Autofill is the cheapest fix on this list: correct `autocomplete` attributes on each input. It only works if your fields are labelled, which a third of the web still gets wrong.
If I had one sprint for a form, I'd spend it on autocomplete attributes, input types, labels and error messages, then remove any field nobody can defend. Only after that would I test a multi-step version, and I'd put email on step one so the test can't lose the lead.
How we calculated the original numbers
Three figures on this page don't appear in the sources. Here is the arithmetic, so you can check it or change the inputs.
- 1.6%: the multistep vs single-step popup gap. Sleeknote's May 2025 popup data gives 3.81% for single-step and 3.75% for multistep. 3.75 / 3.81 = 0.984, a 1.6% relative shortfall. With no significance test reported, read it as a tie for popups, not a verdict on page forms.
- 12.8% and 21%: the mobile completion gap. Zuko's June 2025 benchmark (93 million sessions; completion = completions divided by form starters) gives a desktop average of 54.5% and mobile 47.5%: (54.5 − 47.5) / 54.5 = 12.8%. For enquiry forms: (47.7 − 37.7) / 47.7 = 21.0%. For purchase forms: (56.9 − 51.4) / 56.9 = 9.7%.
- 29%: surplus checkout fields. Baymard's June 2024 benchmark puts the average checkout at 11.3 form fields and says most sites need only 8. (11.3 − 8) / 11.3 = 29.2%. Both figures come from the same article and count form fields, not all form elements.
What the 2026 numbers say
Multi-step is a tactic, not a conversion law. The 13.85% vs 4.53% figure behind most claims is an eleven-year-old comparison of different forms. Sleeknote's 2025 popup data puts the two layouts 1.6% apart, and the published A/B tests go both ways.
Intent beats length. Purchase and application forms carry the most fields and still complete more often than enquiry forms. Among RevenueHero's top performers, two-field and 13-field forms booked meetings at about the same rate. What you ask, and whether the visitor has already decided, matters more than how many boxes there are.
The fields to worry about are specific. Password, email and phone lose the most people in Zuko's data, and Baymard finds 14% of shoppers who won't hand over a phone number at all. Move those fields later, explain them, or drop them. That's the part of multi-step design that works, and it's available on a single page too.
FAQ
Do multi-step forms convert better than single-step forms?
3.81% for single-step and 3.75% for multistep popup forms, across 329 million impressions in Sleeknote's 2025 data, so not reliably for popups: that's a 1.6% relative gap by our calculation. No comparable dataset exists for page forms, and single-company A/B tests range from a 743% win for multi-step to an inconclusive 21% loss, depending on what else changed.
Where does the "multi-step forms convert 3x better" claim come from?
13.85% against 4.53%: Formstack's 2015 Form Conversion Report found multi-page forms converting at more than triple the rate of single-page forms. That's an observational comparison of different forms built for different purposes, not a controlled test, and it's more than ten years old.
How many form fields should a form have?
Baymard says most checkouts need only 8 form fields, against an average of 11.3 (2024). For email capture, Sleeknote found one field converts at 4.41% and two at 2.90% (2025). For B2B demo forms, RevenueHero found top performers booking about the same share of qualified leads with 2 fields as with 13, so audit each field's purpose instead of counting.
Which form field causes the most abandonment?
10.50% mean abandonment makes the password field the worst, across 1,362 forms in Zuko's analysis, published by 2022. Email (6.41%) and phone number (6.28%) come next. Baymard found 14% of shoppers will never give a store their phone number (2025).
Do forms convert worse on mobile?
47.5% of mobile form starters complete against 54.5% on desktop in Zuko's June 2025 benchmark, which is 12.8% fewer completions by our calculation. The gap reaches 21% on enquiry forms.
Does removing the phone number field increase conversions?
14% of shoppers will never share a phone number with a store (Baymard, 2025), so removing the field probably helps for many audiences. Zuko's data, published by 2022, shows a 6.28% mean abandonment rate at the phone field against 5.27% for name. HubSpot's analysis of 40,000+ landing pages also linked phone fields to lower conversion.
Sources
- Sleeknote, What's the Ideal Number of Form Input Fields? (Original Data) (May 2025)
- Formstack, The Form Conversion Report 2015 (2015)
- Baymard Institute, Checkout Flow Average Form Fields (June 2024)
- Baymard Institute, Cart Abandonment Rate Statistics (September 2025)
- Baymard Institute, Explain Why the Phone Field Is Required (July 2025)
- Baymard Institute, Ecommerce Checkout UX Guide (April 2026)
- Baymard Institute, One Page Checkouts: the Holy Grail of Checkout Usability? (April 2011)
- Zuko, Form Type Benchmarking (June 2025, dated from page assets and archive captures)
- Zuko, Which Form Fields Cause the Biggest UX Problems? (undated; first archived August 2022)
- Zuko, Does Browser Autofill Affect Form Conversion Rate? (undated; first archived December 2022)
- RevenueHero, 2025 Inbound Benchmark (2025)
- HubSpot, 3 Form Fields That Kill Landing Page Conversion Rates (updated June 2025)
- Instapage, Why Multi-Step Forms Can Increase Conversions (April 2019, updated November 2024)
- Venture Harbour, Why Multi-Step Lead Forms Get up to 300% More Conversions (August 2016, updated April 2026)
- NextAfter, How a Two-Step Donation Form Affects Donor Conversion (July 2019)
- NextAfter, How Converting a Donation Form into a Multi-Step Form Impacts Mobile Donor Conversion (November 2022)
- NextAfter, 5 Donation Platform Questions to Ask (June 2020)
- Wingify (VWO), Tinkoff Bank Success Story (undated, accessed September 2026)
- Nielsen Norman Group, Progress Indicators Make a Slow System Less Insufferable (October 2014)
- Speero / CXL Institute, Should You Use Single or Multi-Column Forms? (October 2016)
- Pew Research Center, How Americans View Data Privacy (October 2023)
- Contentsquare, Conversion Rates in 2026 (Digital Experience Benchmark) (March 2026)
- Google Chrome for Developers, Autofill in Action: Real-World Insights (December 2024)
- A List Apart, Inline Validation in Web Forms, Luke Wroblewski (September 2009)
- WebAIM, The WebAIM Million (February 2026)
Methodology. Numbers were collected in September 2026 and checked against the original publisher's page or PDF, not against statistics roundups. Single-company A/B tests are labelled with the company, date and traffic where published; tests with no stated traffic are marked as such. Vendor claims with no traceable study, including the "86% higher conversion" figure attributed to HubSpot, were excluded, and so was the Expedia "one field cost $12 million" story, a 2010 anecdote with no published method. Where a secondary source misquotes a primary (roundups give Sleeknote's three-field rate as 1.93%; the primary says 1.83%), the primary wins. Zuko's benchmark page carries no date: its charts were uploaded on 15 June 2025 and the current table first appears in archive captures between April and August 2025, so we cite it as June 2025. Zuko's field and autofill articles are undated and are cited by their first archive capture. Tinkoff Bank's often-quoted 35.8% lift is shown for what it tested, a passport-deferral option on a form that was four steps long in both versions. Figures older than 24 months are marked as dated. Last updated 24 September 2026.